Senate Executive Council (SEC)

  1. Senate shall be governed by the Senate Executive Council.
  2. The SEC shall be composed of eleven (11) members of Senate, made up of seven (7) executive members and four (4) non-executive members.
  3. The executive members shall be members elected to hold the offices of:
    • The President;
    • The Vice-President;
    • The Secretary;
    • The Advocate-General;
    • The Comptroller;
    • The Projects Officer;  and
    • The Public Relations Officer.
  4. The non-executive members shall be nominated by the executive members and approved by the votes of at least twenty (20) members of Senate.
  5. The President shall chair the SEC.
  6. The SEC shall regulate its procedure.
  7. The SEC shall form committees and working groups and may co-opt other non-executive members of Senate into the committees and working groups.
  8. A person shall not be elected into the SEC unless the person:
    • has been a member of Senate for not less than one year at the time of  his nomination into the SEC;
    • has fully paid his membership fees; and
    • actively participates in and contributes to the discourse and activities of Senate.


Powers of the SEC

The SEC shall have the power to:

  1. bind Senate;
  2. take decisions on behalf of Senate;
  3. obtain, collect and receive funds by way of contributions, donations, fines,    fees, grants and any other lawful method towards the realisation of the aims of Senate; and
  4. carry out all lawful acts that will further the aims of Senate.


Tenure of Membership of the SEC

  1. A person elected into the SEC shall hold office for a term of two years beginning from the date on which he is sworn into office.
  2. A person shall not be elected to hold office for more than two consecutive terms.
  3. A person who has served on the SEC for two consecutive terms shall not be eligible to serve on the SEC again until a period of four years has elapsed after the end of his second term in office. 
  4. Where a person takes office less than twelve months into the tenure of the SEC, the person shall be deemed to have served one full term at the end of the term in which he took office.
  5. Where a person takes office twelve months or more into the tenure of the SEC, the person shall be eligible to serve for a further two consecutive terms.


Election of the SEC

  1. Every member of Senate who has fully paid his membership fees, shall be eligible to nominate and elect members into the SEC.
  2. The Secretary shall, not less than thirty (30) days before the expiration of the tenure of the existing SEC, invite nominations from members for election into the executive positions outlined above.
  3. Election of executive members shall be conducted at a Senate General Assembly, Extraordinary General Meeting or via an online procedure.
  4. A candidate for an office wins the vote when the candidate obtains the highest votes among all the candidates contesting for that office.
  5. Where a candidate stands unopposed, he shall be deemed elected if he obtains a simple majority of the votes cast.   
  6. The Officers, so elected, shall constitute the executive members of the SEC.
  7. Within seven (7) days after their election, the executive members of the SEC shall nominate, for the approval of Senators, four members to occupy the non-executive seats of the SEC.
  8. Each nominee shall be deemed approved if he receives twenty (20) approvals from members.
  9. The outgoing Advocate-General (and where there is no outgoing Advocate-General, the new or re-elected Advocate-General) shall swear in the SEC at an Extraordinary General Meeting to be held within seven (7) days after the approval of the non-executive members.
  10. The President, after being sworn in, shall swear in the Advocate-General.
  11. A vacancy in the SEC or any office shall be filled by action of the remaining SEC. 
  12. A vacancy in the position of any Officer-elect shall be filled by action of the remaining SEC-elect.